GK NOTE DOWN POINTS @ Winners of Australian Open 2019


1. Novak Djokovic wins Australian Open 2019 men’s title

  • Serbian professional tennis player Novak Djokovic (world No.1) defeated Rafael Nadal to win his 7th Australian Open Men’s Singles title at Melbourne.
  • He defeated Nadal 6-3, 6-2, 6-3 in a largely one-sided match.
  • The 2019 Australian Open (107th edition) was a Grand Slam tennis tournament that took place at Melbourne Park (Australia) from 14th to 27th January 2019.

List of winners of Australian Open 2019:

S.No. Category Winners Runner Up
1 Men’s Singles Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2 Women’s Singles Naomi Osaka (Japan) Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic)
3 Men’s Doubles Pierre-Hugues Herbert (France) & Nicolas Mahut (France) Henri Kontinen (Finland) & John Peers (Australia)
4 Women’s Doubles Samantha Stosur (Australia) & Zhang Shuai (China) Tímea Babos (Hungary) & Kristina Mladenovic (France)
5 Mixed Doubles Barbora Krejcikova (Czech Republic) & Rajeev Ram (United States) Astra Sharma (Australia) & John-Patrick Smith (Australia)

2. Naomi Osaka wins Australian Open Grand Slam Singles title 2019

  • Japan’s Naomi Osaka has won her maiden Australian Open Grand Slam Singles title 2019 at Melbourne, Australia.
  • In the Final, Osaka defeated Czech Petra Kvitova, 7-6, 5-7, 6-4 to become the first Asian player to achieve the world number one ranking.
  • Now, Osaka has become the youngest number one since Caroline Wozniacki in 2010.

3. Saina Nehwal wins first Indonesia Masters women’s title

  • Ace shuttler Saina Nehwal (India) has won the Indonesia Masters women’s singles title after Carolina Marin (Spain) limped out of the final due to a leg injury.
  • Marin was leading 10-4 in the first game when she developed an injury in the knee.
  • Anders Antonsen (Denmark) has won his first ever Indonesia Masters after defeating world number one Kento Momota (Japan) to claim the 2019 Indonesia Masters title.


  • The DAIHATSU Indonesia Masters 2019 is a badminton tournament that takes place at the Istora Gelora Bung Karno in Indonesia and has a total purse of USD 350,000.

4. Kartik Sharma wins New South Wales men’s Amateur Golf Championship

  • India’s Kartik Sharma has won the New South Wales men’s Amateur Golf Championship in Australia.
  • Kartik (from Gurgaon) win over Australia’s Nathan Barberie in the scheduled 36-hole final to emerge as champion.
  • He had been selected to represent Indian Golf Union for three events in Australia.


  • Earlier, Kartik had won the Indian golf union western India amateur golf championship 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *